Palmeiras Women’s Libertadores Champions anno 2022

In a “better late than never” spirit before the end of the year, a throwback to late October, when Palmeiras won their first women’s Copa Libertadores title, beating Argentinian Boca Juniors 4-1 in the decider at the Rodrigo Paz Delgado (aka Casa Blanca) Stadium in Quito, Ecuador.

The path to the title was impressive, especially considering this was the Big Green’s first ever appearance in the continental tournament. The opening match was a resounding 3-0 victory over Sportivo Limpeño, followed by a devastating 7-0 against Independiente del Valle. The third game was a tight 2-1 over Universidad de Chile, propelling Palmeiras to the quarterfinals as best team overall. Next up for elimination were Santiago Morning, 2-1. In the semifinals, América de Cali were beaten through a sole goal from Ary Borges.

Ary also opened the score against Boca Juniors in the final, but the Argentinians quickly found the equalizer. However, the second half was all Palmeiras’, with Byanca (48th), Poliana (57th) and Bia Zaneratto (88th minute) contributing to the final score.

Palmeiras reached Eternal Glory after having won all their matches within regulation time. Below, highlights from all the games, from start to finish. Extraordinary well done, ladies!

Out of the 14 women’s Libertadores editions, this is Brazil’s eleventh title, the former belonging to Santos (2009-2010), São José (2011, 2013-2014), Ferroviária (2015, 2020), Audax/Corinthians (2017) and Corinthians (2019, 2021). The three non-Brazilian champions are Chilean side Colo-Colo (2012), Paraguayan SC Limpeño (2016) and Colombian Atlético Huila (2018).

Scoppia che la vittoria è nostra!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s