We won’t stop! Champions, again!

When talking about Palmeiras, some make an effort to ignore the hugeness of this team. They forget that in 1942, the old Palestra Italia played their first game under a new name and made their rivals abandon the game to win the title of the Paulistão. They forget that in 1993, Palmeiras lost the first leg of the Paulistão and then thrashed another rival 4-0 in the second leg to claim the title. Their memory is so bad that they forget Breno Lopes scored a goal in the 99th minute to win our second Libertadores only two years ago. And they forget that less than a year later, Deyverson did the same against Flamengo on extra time. A few years from now, they will forget this afternoon. But we will never. Neither will the players. Weverton expressed the sentiment after the game: “surreal energy”. On the pitch, in the stands, on the streets. Surreal energy.

Palmeiras were not Palmeiras in the first leg, played last Wednesday. After the referees helped SPFC score the opener (a handball literally everyone agreed should not render a penalty), our opponents through merit build a considerable advantage: 3-1, Raphael Veiga scoring our sole goal to keep faith alive, although many non-palmeirenses seemed ready to hand the 2022 Paulistão title over to our historical enemies. In their view. Veiga’s goal at the Morumbi was a consolation. We knew better.

When there is 1% of chance, palmeirenses will nurture 100% of hope.

The seats available for the second leg were soon sold out. The sector behind the “north goal”, with the view blocked by a concert stage (Maroon 5 upcoming Tuesday), was packed with palmeirenses watching the game on a gigantic screen, their voices urging the team on in tune with the other thirty thousand on the stands.

The players answered the call.

From the first minute to the last, Palmeiras wiped the opponent out. Two goals in each half, signed Danilo, Zé Rafael, Raphael Veiga and Raphael Veiga again. Aided by a very solid defensive line and Dudu smoking hot – the little giant once again putting out the performance of his life against São Paulo – the men in green made history. Another 4-0 in a final, almost 30 years after that 4-0 that ended a run of 17 years without winning a trophy.

Abel turned critics into dust. For the first time since 1976, a coach other than Vanderlei Luxemburgo wins the Paulistão title for Palmeiras. While everyone else watches, Palmeiras and Abel keep writing winning pages in the history books, as we have done since 1914.

We are the champions, again! Enjoy, palmeirenses! The moment is ours!

Scoppia che la vittoria è nostra!

– – – ooo – – –
by Augusto Anteghini Oazi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s